top of page

Spring Break In Europe


So...Spring break. In Europe. 10 days of no school, and over 50 countries within a day's travel. I chose to see Milan, Budapest, and Interlaken with my time. I traveled alone for the first time in my life--like really all myself--and I really enjoyed it! I recommend it to those who can because it is really freeing to be able to just go about your day and do whatever you want (within laws and reason). Yes, it is stressful figuring out how to get where you want to go, but at no point did I ever feel unsafe, even as a solo female traveler. The one downside I did find to solo travel was dinner time or lunch time. It is nice to talk with someone over food, but it never was uncomfortable.

I started my break by taking the night train Thursday night up to Milan. I got in to my Airbnb pretty late but it turned out to be in a prime location and the host was wonderful and worked with my crazy schedule. I was in Milan for two days and three nights, and it was amazing to just walk around the city. The Milan Duomo is breathtaking and the mall right next door puts all other malls I have seen to shame. I also made it up to Como--a little town on Lake Como about a 30 min train ride from Milan Central. IT IS BEAUTIFUL THERE! I definitely plan on going back at some point in my life. The lake is mesmerizing and I think I sat on its shore for a couple of hours just watching it. The next morning was a bit of a mess though. My flight to Budapest was at 8am from Milan Malpensa, which is like an hour away from the city. So I ordered a taxi the night before to pick me up at 4am so that I could get to the Ariporter stop at the train station by 4:45am, in order to catch the 5am bus. Well, my taxi request was accepted and canceled on three times and the last time they said I wouldn't get another due to a busy morning. So, with all my luggage, I had to figure out the city bus system at 4am. In the rain. And my rain jacket was packed away. Long story short, I made it to the airport on time and with all my luggage.

Budapest was my favorite. It was a beautiful mix of detailed architecture and office building-like communists era buildings. I have a bit of a personal connection to Budapest as my paternal great-grandmother grew up in Budapest in the early 1920's. I was unfortunately unable to get in contact with any of the distant family members in Budapest. But that didn't stop me from having a wonderful time. From the bath houses to the ruin bars, Budapest has just about anything you could need. The Airbnb I stayed in was in the middle of the Jewish Quarter and being on the 5th floor, it had a killer view. My host was also extremely helpful in providing information about the city and things to see. I recommend taking a dinner cruise on the Danube. It was pretty magical seeing the city lit up from the water. I felt very at home there and hope to go back in the future.

My last stop was Interlaken, Switzerland. It is so incredibly gorgeous there! I got in to the Airbnb after dark, so I had no idea of the scenery until I woke up the next morning...to the freaking Alps! I think I just sat in bed and stared at the snow capped mountain ridge for 15 minutes. I was only able to have one free day there and I really wish I had more time. However, I spent the entire day outside walking around the lake and taking pictures, and of course souvenir shopping. Switzerland is another place I really want to return to in the future. Next I think I will check out Bern though. I briefly saw it from the train from the airport in Basel to Interlaken. I took the train back to Florence and it was a long ride but very beautiful when we were not in the tunnels.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page